2011 Year End

It’s amazing how fast this year went by. For me, things progressed forward slowly all year and I feel like next year is only going to progress that much further. I am excited about what the future will hold for me now that I’ve incorporated more and more yoga into my life. Teaching classes five to six days a week is going to be a welcomed challenge in 2012.

Three years ago I would have never dreamed I would be practicing yoga let alone teaching yoga. I was working for a high profile, Los Angeles’ City Councilman at a very stressful time during his campaign for LA County Board of Supervisors. I was over worked and under paid, struggling to keep up with bills, my son and my life in general. I knew something had to change because I felt with every fiber in me that I was not living my authentic life.

The catalyst that brought the change finally came about a year into the position when my mother died suddenly. Being an only child and never having my father around created a special bond with my mother. So naturally when she died my world came crashing down. I couldn’t pick myself up to get back to a job that was not supporting my authentic self. Without the job, I couldn’t pay rent. I literally sat in the house in absolute denial for a year without working or doing a thing. The only hope I had was my son. Regardless of what happened he needed me and had to be taken care of.

I finally took the steps necessary for me to begin the healing process after losing my mom. I moved back to my hometown with my family and started working on myself. I signed up for the local gym where they offered yoga classes and the rest history. For the past two years yoga has been the mainstay in my life. And will continue to be for the rest of my life.

One thought on “2011 Year End

  1. Congratulations on your birthday and wieshs for continued success! If you have some of your Namaste y’all items in hand by the time of the Yoga Mela event in Hillsborough, you could definitely have a table to sell them at.

Leave a Reply

