Unconditional Love

The greatest power known to man is that of unconditional love. ~Unknown

I once told someone I loved them without an ‘I love you too’ in return. Although it was kind of painful not to hear those three little words back, it got me thinking about love, more specifically unconditional love.  Though I did not hear the words I wanted to hear at the time, I still felt like I had unconditional love for that person. Yes, I got mad at him from time to time but we’d been through a lot together and I’d known him for more than twenty-five years. So why was it so hard for him to say those words to me? I get it, he wasn’t in love with me and didn’t want to lead me on. But even if he was not in love with me, I know he had love for me, if not only as a long time friend.

I used to be one of those people who had a hard time saying ‘I love you’. I had issues with men who would say they loved me when I wasn’t in love with them. It was a turn off because I only saw them as friends. I was rejecting the romantic love from unwanted suitors yet still looking and yearning for love. Most of the suitors were men I was friends with whom I trusted and respected so why couldn’t I just say, ‘I love you too’, just not in a romantic way. Why are we so afraid to say ‘I love you’?

Now I see that love is not a bad word. Everyday I tell someone I love them. Not necessarily in a romantic way, but in a human way, in a unconditional love sort of way. My family is really big on ‘I love you’. We say it to each other even after a short phone conversation. My son says he loves me about 20 times a day. I have male and female friends that I say ‘I love you’ to all the time.

I end with a quote from a website on Unconditional Love : Unconditional Love is a dynamic and powerful energy that lifts us through the most difficult times.  It is available at any moment by turning our attention to it and using its wonderful potential to free us from our limitations.  It requires practice and intent to allow this energy to fully permeate our daily experience.

 

Leave a Reply

