Consistency = Goals Accomplished

In essence, if we want to direct our lives, we must take control of our consistent actions. It’s not what we do once in a while that shapes our lives, but what we do consistently. ~ Anthony Robbins

Ok I haven’t exactly been sticking to my post-a-day challenge. I’ve already missed two days of posting and it’s only day number six. Ugh. Well, I guess it takes some adjusting to trying to get into the habit of posting everyday so I’m not going to be too hard on myself.

Yesterday, I searched for topics to write and couldn’t come up with a thing. It’s funny how you have a million ideas before you start but once you begin the mind goes blank. Again, after only six days.

Which leads me to the topic of the day: consistency. The key to being successful in any endeavor is being consistent. I might miss a post here or there but overall I’m learning a valuable lesson on consistency by challenging myself. I mean, I’m not totally inconsistent, I show up for the most part. I practice yoga regularly at least 5 times a week. I show up for work on time, I brush my teeth and take a shower every day.But I have been known to start things and not finish. Or say things that were not consistent with my actions.

Image

One of my goals this year is to write an original post a day for the year. It’s obvious there is no way to achieve this goal without a consistent effort to writing every single day. I’ve researched some ways that can help me and you become more consistent in reaching my goal.

1). Select a set time and day(s) to work on your goal. Create a routine or schedule. Working on your goal at a set time and day will help form a habit. It usually takes 20-30 days before a consistent action becomes a habit. Making the action a routine part of your life, like brushing your teeth everyday, goes a long way in creating a consistent action.

2). Think long-term. Just because you haven’t seen any results in three weeks or month doesn’t necessarily mean you have to change what you are doing. Maybe you haven’t given it enough time. Focus on the process not the progress. Concentrate on the moment of performing the action not on the outcome of the action. And before you know it, your goal has been met!

3). Do it even if you don’t want to. Procrastination can be one’s worst enemy. Putting something off til tomorrow can turn into months or years of not finishing the task at hand. Most people do not accomplish what they want in life because they have not disciplined themselves to do whatever they have to do even if they don’t feel like it.

 I’m going to put these tips into effect for myself when it comes to posting. But don’t shoot me if I miss a post one day. : – )

Leave a Reply

